September the 10th.

Today is World Suicide Prevention Day.

According to the WHO, 3,000 people commit suicide every year on average. For every person that ends their own life, 20 attempt to.

I don’t know many people who have not been affected by suicide. A few years ago, a family member of mine took his own life. He was several years younger than me and left behind a fiancee. I often wonder what was going on in his life that was so terrible that he felt he had no other choice. I wish I had reached out to him. I wish he had gotten help.

For those who suffer from depression in its many forms, suicide is no stranger to us. Many of us have those thoughts.

I have things that keep me going every day. My son. Courageous people who aren’t afraid to share their experiences. Like Jenny aka The Bloggess, Kim from Mommy Go Something Something, Nicole from Healing Mutti.

It gets better. It does. That darkness that seems to swallow you won’t be there forever. ASK for help. Call 1-800-273-TALK, or go here: http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/

Your life is too precious.

Leave a Reply

