Memorial Day.

I don’t talk about it, but my husband is a Marine. He’ll hit 9 years in this summer, he’s been on 5 deployments, 4 of them combat deployments.

As most know, this weekend is Memorial Day. Probably one of the hardest weekends for my husband to get through. His first deployment, he lost 2 of his friends, and was wounded himself. He doesn’t talk about it much, but I know that Memorial Day in particular is hard for him. He has told me that not a day goes by that he doesn’t think of them.

Although I had only briefly met these men, I find myself thinking of them often, too. I think, one of them could have been my husband. I wonder how their families are doing today, both men were so young, 20 and 21.

I do get irritated at my husband, and I don’t fully appreciate him at times. That’s marriage. But, I could never do what he does. He’s so brave and courageous. I am truly in awe of his strength. He sacrifices so much for us, and doesn’t complain. I try to let him know how much he is appreciated, and I hope he does know how much I love him and am so proud of him.

So this weekend while you’re celebrating, barbequing, spending time with your family; take a minute to think of those who can’t. Those who truly gave the ultimate sacrifice, and their friends and family they left behind.

Leave a Reply

