Change of Pace.

This blog is mostly ‘me me me’, so I thought I’d talk about something else for a change.

I don’t really talk about it, but my husband is a Marine. He’s been deployed 5 times, 4 of those were to combat zones. Anyway, today marks the official end of the Iraq war. I watched the coverage on CNN this morning. My husband’s first deployment in 04 was to Iraq. He lost 2 of his friends, and was injured multiple times. It took him a long time to talk to me about what happened and what he went through. I marvel at his strength. I can not imagine going through a quarter of what he did. He thinks about his friends, and everything that happened every day. I don’t know how he does it, but I suppose that is why he is a Marine and I am not.

I remember Obama announcing the Iraq war was over, and my husband getting very emotional. Last night, Rachel Maddow mostly devoted her show to the quiet end of the Iraq war. My husband, who is the farthest from a liberal you can get, actually agreed with her. There is no monumental celebration or ceremony in the US marking the end of the war. The divide between the military community and civilians is huge. It seems like the military, their sacrifice is mostly forgotten. The Iraq war is one of those uncomfortable things that no one wants to talk about. It’s rapidly becoming the next Vietnam.

I guess I have no real point in this blog. I just wanted to talk about something that mattered to my husband, and to me. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

