Back Again.

I had a fairly good holiday vacation. I got to spend time with my family, and I didn’t do too badly. R wasn’t too awful on the car ride, near the end he was upset, but not too bad other than that. I had my ‘zombie’ moments, but I got through it. I also remembered that pumpkin pie makes everything better.

This is late, but I had a lot of time to think about what I was thankful for. I also realized that exactly one year ago today, I found out I was pregnant with R. I took a test because my blood sugar had been wacky, I’m diabetic, and it was positive. I remember going to the store to buy another few tests, coming home and taking them all. Positive. I called my husband and cried. I called my mom and cried. Then I sat in the bathroom and cried. As scared and unready as I was back then, I’m still those things, I wouldn’t trade R for anything. I love him so much it hurts. Realizing that makes me feel so much better.

Anyway, back to being thankful. I am thankful for R, of course. I love his little baby noises, his smile and giggle. He’s such a happy and curious little guy. I can’t picture life without him. I’m thankful for my husband. He can be an ass sometimes, but he supports me when I need it, loves me when I’m unlovable, has the weirdest sense of humor and such a great outlook on life in general. I love him. I’m thankful for my family. My parents have always been there for me, and more. When my husband was deployed and I was pregnant, they visited me every month. That’s an 1100 mile drive, one way. My mom was with me when R was born, and my dad and sister came up that week. I don’t know how I would function without any of them. I’m also so thankful for all my friends. They’re inspiring, hilarious, wonderful people, each and every one of them. They make my life richer, and I’m extremely grateful for it.

Since it’s nearly 5am, I should probably head back to bed. See you soon.

Leave a Reply

